IN WHICH JAX TELLER MEETS MR MAYHEM, VIVACIA K AHWEN GETS SHOT 31 TIMES BUT AVOIDS THE MACHINE, AND OTHER TALES OF SWEET RELEASE WEEK

Okay, I’m not even going to pretend for one second that the title wasn’t clickbait. In point of fact, last night I went surfing for “most common searches on the web.” The Lord punished me for my slippery behavior by not so much as waving the SPOILER ALERT flag about the series finale of Sons of Anarchy. Articles are all titled things like “Should Jax Have Taken that Final Ride,” “Sons’ Cast Opines About Jax’ Suicide,” whatever. Not like the death was a surprise; I mean, Kurt Sutter was touting SOA as “Hamlet on wheels” since Season One, and there goes the punch line. Everyone dies.

See, we don’t have television, here, or internet (I use my cellphone), so I REALLY REALLY REALLY would have liked to see Charlie Hunnam drive into the semi or whatever happens, while Jimmy Smits plays the violin. You know, Nero, Rome, Fire, yadda yadda? Kurt Sutter knew, too. Anyway, now I know the end. And so do you. Come to think of it, maybe I should’ve posted SPOILER ALERT in the title of this entry.

Nah.

On Sunday I shared my NOT “happy, floaty, goofy, ecstatic blog about my release date,” and figured that a week from December 4th (which would be today) I’d be back to all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. Luckily, my mood fluctuations did not disappoint, and it ended up being a pretty awesome week, after all. Thirteen minutes after I published that post, I got a gmail notification. An special someone who went by the handle, “New Fan” sent me the following missive:

Congratulations on your publication! It was AMAZING!! An author as promising as you should be able to read their own work on an ereader/kindle. Go buy yourself one and give us some more juicy reads! xoxo an anonymous fan

Once I’d finished grilling people I’d assumed to be the overly-generous parties in my life, I came to the sweet and humbling conclusion that the $200 deposit in my Amazon account truly was a gift from an awesome person I never met who just really loved The Lily.

That’s just…well that’s the bees’ knees.

Also, I’ve had a few sweet notes from readers, and some decent reviews on Goodreads. My favorite was:

*ARC PROVIDED BY HARPER COLLINS VIA NETGALLEY*

The first glimpse we get of a heart broken Lily is as she is fleeing from her life. After finishing the prologue, I knew this was going to be a book much different than I’m used to. I say that in a good way. My first thought was WOW the author gave away a lot of information. The author’s writing only intrigued me more going forward. I enjoyed the pop culture references & often found myself laughing. I thought it was also very different that Lily would be telling her story & then make a comment about something that happened in the future. I loved that Reaching Lily was very character & story driven with a splash of the very naughty Mr. Dorian Holder. I definitely wasn’t ready for the book to end when it did. That would be yet another trick Vivacia K. Ahwen had up her sleeve.

Yes, I’m getting back to work on the sequel. Last night I dreamed about an obscene phone caller, who grumbled a bunch of dirty stuff in my ear. “Mr Ahwen” informed me that I was saying “Who is this? No, who is this, really?” I failed to tell him that a fictional character had rung me, because of Crazy. Oh, and for the record? Dorian Holder truly DOES have a sexy voice; that wasn’t just Lily’s starstruck opinion. (I am not as into her not-boyfriend as she is and consider myself pretty objective. That was why it took me awhile to realize who was on the other end of the phone.) Meta as the whole nocturnal visitation was, it wasn’t half weird or upsetting as the MC from a novel I wrote ten years ago. I had set The Land of Nod aside for a few months a mere two chapters away from finishing. Kassandra actually hunted me down and SHOT me. It hurt. I finished writing the book in a week.

But part of me is curious to see what Dream-Dorian will do if I don’t heed his “deep-throated purr.” I kind of want to meet him.

Speaking of being shot, I got thirty-one Botox shots in my head, and twenty-five years of chronic headache pain (I have epilepsy; it’s an unfortunate side effect) vanished. So strange. Like the world got so quiet and still. Once you’ve heard pounding for that long, the sound doesn’t register, anymore. Once your in pain that long, it just becomes a part of life that you accept. Ever since migraines hopped into the headache soup a couple years ago, I’d been seeking a solution, and thought the Botox was bunk, but was willing to try anything. Anyway. Shit works, y’all. Though my eyebrows are doing a sort of Cruella Deville thing. I’d gotten to the point where I thought I was having early onset pre-Alzheimers from my forgetfulness, word loss, misunderstanding sentences, and growing confusion about just day-to-day basics. My neurologist, who is so the man, told me that can all be sideFX of chronic pain. Appears that’s a true story, because now I’ve got the memory of an elephant. Isn’t that the best?

Also, a bunch of broken links and Vivacia McWrongnames have been fixed. So, yay.

It ended up being a lovely week, so here’s to the Happy-Floaty-Goofy’s. Also I have some pics of the book release cake one of my dear brothers bought me which I meant to post, but the baristas are trying to close here, they’re giving me stink-eye, and who can blame ‘em? So, eh. Maybe next time, Dear Reader.

Kisses,
vka

Leave a Reply

